How to stay calm when life doesn’t go your way

lifestyle-96-of-104-copyI had a moment of panic this morning, which never feels nice!

In the past when a flatmate moves out, it’s normally at least a week before a new person moves in, not a few hours, which is what I experienced today.

The plan was that by 11am the first flatmate would have moved out so that by 11.30am the new flatmate could move in ( tight i know ). In theory it was a great idea, but at 10.45am when the first flatmate hadn’t shown up to move any of her stuff, I started to have a mild panic attack, i felt a bit stressed!

As soon as I started to become aware that I was feeling anxious about the situation, I toke a moment to observe the thoughts racing around in my head.

Being aware that my mind was getting in to a panic about all the possible worst case scenarios, I took a deep breathe, and calmly asked myself, ok, what can I do in this very moment, that will help me best?

I picked up my phone, sent a text to the first flatmate to get an update on her time frame ( which was 30 mins away ), then sent a text to the second flatmate who advises me she is now running late and is 2 hours away, phew!!

So after all of that worry, there was no drama in the end, it all worked out without me having to do much, other than simply be cool, calm and communicate.

Such a good reminder that life doesn’t always do what you want it to do, this happens to me frequently, so there is no need to stress.

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again… don’t worry, be happy, it all works out in the end. 🙂

2 thoughts on “How to stay calm when life doesn’t go your way

  1. Love this! When we’re in the midst of chaos/stress we go to this place of “amnesia” where we forget all the times we’ve risen above & beyond in the past. Also known as the… AMYGDALA HYJACK. But as you say, when you remember to “be calm and communicate” you found your way back home, to that place of trust, where everything works out in the end. p.s. I love a story that ends well. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

