Stroke of Insight!

When it comes to your mind are you a lefty or a righty?

Not sure? Well neither was I until I came across a brilliant TED talk by brain scientist Jill Bolte Taylor called ‘My Stroke of Insight’.

In the TED talk she explains how the right hemisphere of the brain connects us with the present moment, hearing, seeing, tasting, smelling, touching, all energy that’s shared with the whole of the universe, infinite, expansive, perfect, beautiful.

While the left hemisphere of the brain operates using language and logic, taking the present moment sensory data, and then trying to organise it using past thoughts to forecast possible future outcomes. Creating this sense of I AM, being seperate from everyone and everything.

Having watched this TED talk for the first time, this new experience has given me insight in to how I use my own mind.

I learnt I have a choice, I can chose to spend more time using the right hemisphere. By doing so, I can tap in to the life force of the universe, feeling an abundance of love, peace and creativity!

Feeling a sense of connection to every living being.

If you have 19mins and want to learn more, please enjoy watching the full talk below. πŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “Stroke of Insight!

  1. Great post! This is my favourite ted talk, for all the reasons you described. I include it in my lecture on neuropsychology. And posted a blog on it “What side of the brain do you live on.” Keep spreading the peace! βœ¨πŸ˜€

    Like

    • Thank you Andrea, yes it was a brilliant talk, filled with so much emotion towards the end due to it being heartfelt. I appreciate you taking time to read my blog, always love receiving comments from readers in the field of Science. I look forward to reading your post on the topic. Wishing you all the best 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

