What’s at the top of your priority list if the world was to end today?

lifestyle-90-of-104-copyIf the apocalypse was forecast, how would you spend your last days on earth? This thought came to my mind last night, when watching a film called The Road.

If the things we put so much value on such as money, high tech gadgets, the internet, latest fashion and trends became obsolete, what would you value instead?

For me, the first thought that came to mind was relationships, friendships, family, all the people in my life who I have a conscious connection with. Conversations that bring me joy, make me laugh, feel supported and provide inspiration and growth.

Yesterday I caught up with a friend I hadn’t seen in over a year, like me he had quit his job to go travelling overseas and then returned to the unknown, wanting to start fresh. Speaking to his yesterday, I was captivated by his happiness.

He had taken a ballsy risk to believe in himself, start his own business as an Education Consultant and in astonishment to him, it had actually paid off! Within 6 months he had a business name, brand, website, swanky business card and happy paying clients. He was living his dream!

As I walked off, I felt an immense sense of joy, so grateful that he had reached out to me and we had crossed paths again. His enthusiasm and optimism was incredibly contagious! In just an hour, over a chai latte, he inspired me to not sit back and wait for things to happen, but to just believe in my ability and go for it, fake it till you make it sort of thing!

Connection with friends, sharing stories, sharing experiences, sharing emotions, sharing who we are, is what I value most. It’s the one thing that continually brings me happiness and feeds my conscious mind to evolve in to the greatest version of who I am.

Every conversation has a conscious effect on the body and mind, whether you notice it or not, which is why it’s so important to be aware of the people you are spending your precious time with. Are the conversations positive, loving, supportive, or are they negative, toxic and discouraging? Most importantly, when you are with another being, how do you feel?

Becoming aware of my own mood when I’m around people is also very important. Being in a good head space, feeling love for who I am, being excited about life, creates a conscious flow of positive energy as soon as eye contact, words and hugs are exchanged.

Honestly, I used to prefer being on my own, but now that I’m aware that being with others is what nurtures my conscious growth most, I’ve made simple changes.

In the past few months, I’ve allowed myself to be open to new relationships, I’ve engaged more with strangers, accepted new Facebook friends requests, said yes to extra coffee catch ups, and then I’ve sat back and watched the joy within me expand!

My theory is that if the world was to end, spending time with those that lift you up, make you feel love, be love, costs nothing. It’s the greatest free gift we have as a species, conscious connection, yet so often we take it for granted and forget its priceless value in every precious moment we have.

Having now a fresh awareness of what I value most, connection, friendship, relationships, means it just got moved to the top of my priority list!

Unsure what you value most? As yourself this…

What’s at the top of my priority list if the world was to end? And… is this something I can start making time for today? The answer is Yes.

Leave a Reply

